A new education era in the outer east and Yarra Valley

Six schools across the Yarra Valley and outer east will join forces as part of the expansion of the Lilydale District and Yarra Valley Education Plan.

The schools would share use of ideas and facilities, such as specialised classrooms and resources.

It includes Lilydale High School, Lilydale Heights College, Upper Yarra Secondary College, Healesville High School, Mooroolbark College and Yarra Hills Secondary College.

Students will be encouraged to develop their own voice and identity as leaders, with a strong focus on job and education pathways with the community and local industry.

The plan has so far seen major upgrades of buildings and facilities at Lilydale Heights College, Lilydale High School and Upper Yarra Secondary College.

These infrastructure projects have modernised learning facilities at these three schools and will enable the six schools to share the new resources and educational opportunities they create.

Education Minister James Merlino said it was about modernising classrooms and creating better opportunities.

“This education plan will see secondary schools in the Yarra Valley and Lilydale work together to deliver the very best education outcomes for students.”